Boards of Directors

Dr James Bartos, Chairman

Dr James Bartos is Chairman of the Board of the Gardens Trust. He was a member of the GHS Council and the Finance and General Purposes Committee from 2012. He obtained a PhD in Garden History from Bristol University in 2014. Prior to retiring from the law, he was a partner in a leading international law firm, specialising in capital markets transactions and corporate governance.

Michael Dawson, Vice Chairman

Mike Dawson is Vice Chairman of the Board. He is a planner and landscape architect, retired, with 45 years experience in local government and with environmental charities in many areas throughout the country. He was Executive Chairman of the London Parks & Gardens Trust, Vice Chairman of the Association of Gardens Trusts and has been Chairman of the GHS/AGT Joint Conservation Committee. He is Chairman of the Administration and Finance Committee of the Gardens Trust.

Christine Addison

Christine Addison is a founder member of the Northamptonshire Gardens Trust with a background in the development of post medieval and modern aspects of the archaeological record for Northamptonshire, particularly in the areas of historic parks and gardens and industrial archaeology. She has participated in English Heritage’s Landscapes at Risk survey and has provided input towards land management planning for Natural England’s grant-aided stewardship schemes.

Sarah Dickinson

Sarah Dickinson is enjoying a second career as a landscape designer and planting consultant following a career in the City as a property lawyer. She has an MSc in the Conservation of Historic Gardens and Cultural Landscapes from Bath University and is on the Council of the Surrey Gardens Trust and editor of their newsletter.

She is Vice Chair of the Conservation Committee of the Gardens Trust.

Dr Marion Harney

Dr Marion Harney is Senior Lecturer & Director of Studies, MSc Conservation of Historic Gardens and Cultural Landscapes, University of Bath. She was a Trustee of the GHS and Chair of the Joint Conservation Committee and their nominated representative on the National Trust Council. Marion Chairs the Bathscape Project and is a Member of the Bath World Heritage Site Steering Group. She is Chair of the Conservation Committee of the Gardens Trust.

Virginia Hinze

Virginia Hinze is a landscape architect with a qualification in historic landscape conservation. She had experience with East Sussex County Council, English Heritage and the Heritage Lottery Fund and is currently a consultant. She delivers training courses to County Gardens Trusts and helps to deliver projects. She is a founder and former Council member of Sussex Gardens Trust and former Council member of the GHS. She is Chair of the Events Committee of the Gardens Trust.

Dr Sally Jeffery

Dr Sally Jeffery, FSA, studied History of Art at Birkbeck College, where she wrote her doctoral thesis. She was architectural and garden historian at the City of London for sixteen years, then helped to set up the MA Garden History at Birkbeck, and was a tutor until its closure, and is now an independent scholar. She is Vice Chair of the Events Committee of the Gardens Trust, and organises the winter lectures.

Dr David Marsh

Dr David Marsh is a garden historian, lecturer and writer. He obtained a PhD in Garden History from Birkbeck College in 2005.   He is co-convener of the History of Gardens and Designed Landscapes seminar at Institute of Historical Research, London University, 2011 to date and is currently involved in setting up a national programme for garden history education in conjunction with a number of other interest groups. David is Chair of the Education, Publications and Communications Committee of the Gardens Trust and Registrar of Research.

David Lambert

David Lambert is a director of the Parks Agency and for ten years was GHS Conservation Officer. His interests include public parks, allotments and cemeteries as well as eighteenth-century poetry and gardens. He currently serves on a number of specialist advisory panels including the National Trust, Historic England, the World Monuments Fund and Historic Royal Palaces.

Maureen Nolan, Honorary Secretary

Maureen Nolan is Honorary Secretary of the Gardens Trust. She is a Chartered Secretary with over 30 years’ experience in governance and company secretarial work. She has a BSc in Mathematics and Biophysics and an MSc in Information Science. She has worked for a range of organisations in the public, private and charitable sectors, including Transport for London, ICSA and Age Concern England. Maureen is presently Company Secretary and Trustee of the London Parks and Gardens Trust (LPGT) and Company Secretary of the Gas Safe Charity.

Peter Waine

Peter Waine has a business background having been on both PLC and private company boards. He has been visiting professor at Warwick and Cass Business schools. He was Chairman of the Campaign to Protect Rural England (CPRE) from 2008 to 2014 and has also been Chairman of the Tree Council and of the National Fruit Collection at Brogdale. He is a former Trustee of the Royal Opera House and an author of a number of business books and books on the English countryside.

Lisa Watson, Honorary Treasurer

Lisa Watson is Honorary Treasurer of the Gardens Trust. She worked for the National Trust at Stowe Landscape Garden for 17 years starting as a volunteer and then becoming Estate Secretary until she retired in 2009. She has been Company Secretary of the London Parks & Gardens Trust and is their Treasurer, is a Council member and Treasurer of Buckinghamshire Gardens Trust and was Treasurer of the AGT.

Simon Baynes

Simon Baynes is ex-officio on the Board of the Gardens Trust. He is Chairman of the Welsh Historic Gardens Trust.

Judy Riley

Judy Riley is ex-officio on the Board of the Gardens Trust. She is Chairman of Scotland’s Garden and Landscape Heritage.